13 Countries Confirmed for Summit in Uruguay

This Thursday at 11.30 in the morning (local time) will begin the meeting of the so-called International Contact Group on Venezuela in Montevideo. The headquarters will be the Executive Tower and there will be presence of 13 countries and the European Union (EU).

The governments that agreed to launch this initiative are from Latin America and Europe, and the initiative came from the governments of the Uruguayan Tabaré Vázquez and the Mexican Andrés López Obrador.

Through an official statement, the Uruguayan Presidency reported that in addition to the host government, official envoys from Mexico, Bolivia, Ecuador and Costa Rica will participate from Latin America and Spain, Germany, France, the United Kingdom, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal and Sweden for Europe, in addition to the representatives of the EU.

“The purpose of the conference is to lay the foundations to establish a new mechanism for dialogue that, with the inclusion of all Venezuelan forces, helps to restore stability and peace in Veenzuela. This effort responds to the call of the Secretary General of the UN, António Guterres, to bet for dialogue in front of those who deny that this possibility exists, “reads a joint communiqué from the Foreign Ministries of Uruguay and Mexico.

“The position of my country is correct because it is not fighting for legitimacy, it is fighting between this dilemma: peace or war,” Uruguayan President José Mujica declared in an interview with the BBC. “I do not remember governments that have self-proclaimed,” he added and warned that “the great power is willing to intervene.”

Source URL: America XXI

Translated by JRE/AR

13 Countries Confirmed for Summit in Uruguay