National Dialogue Table: 14 Jailed Politicians Released This Monday

The opposition leader and member of the National Dialogue Board, Javier Bertucci, reported Monday that precautionary measures were completed for 14 people who had been in detention.

As a result of the political debate between the national government and the opposition, Bertucci said that the citizens released respond to the names of Manuel Bernardo Chacín; Jormanth Joseph Linares Ramirez; Michel Alfredo Vargas Camacho; Jesus Medina Ezaine; Jesus Lira; María del Carmen Herrera; Luis Carlos Barrios Orozco; Emilio Boulanger Cova; Carlos Eduardo Brown Colmenares.

Similarly, Renzo Fuenmayor Miquilinena; Nataly Gallego Pereira; Jesús María Ocando; Rafael González Meregote and Nelson Guzmán Castellano. They join the list of 29 other people who were released by precautionary measures in 2019.

RELATED CONTENT: President Maduro Interviewed by Ignacio Ramonet: “We Are at the Doors of Economic Growth” (Video)

From the Hotel Meliá Caracas, at a press conference, he said that in the coming days other releases will be taking place as part of the advances in conflict resolution and concrete solutions, proposed by the National Dialogue Table, which will be announced.

He added that all cases of detainees will be addressed and as they are discussed, they will be announced.

On October 17, 2019, the Attorney General of the Republic, Tarek William Saab, notified about the release of 24 people through the agreements reached at the National Dialogue Table and stressed that through this political negotiation mechanism 29 citizens have been released, including the deputy and former president of the National Assembly (AN), Edgar Zambrano.

RELATED CONTENT: Venezuela: What Happened in 2019? Summary of Main Political Events

Between 2017 and 2019, 222 people were granted freedom with the addition of these new 14 people.

The National Dialogue Table is made up of the Executive Vice President of the Republic, Delcy Rodríguez; the ministers of Communication and Information, Jorge Rodríguez, and of Education, Aristóbulo Istúriz; as well as the head of the parliamentary faction of the Bloque de la Patria, Francisco Torrealba.

For the opposition Javier Bertucci (Hope for Change); Felipe Mujica (Movement To Socialism); Claudio Fermín (Solutions for Venezuela) and Timoteo Zambrano (Let’s Change Citizen Movement).

Featured image: Opposition leader, Javier Bertucci. AVN

Source URL: La IguanaTV

Translated by JRE/EF

Website | + posts